Writing: Characters Write Themselves

I can attest to this, if it helps. When I originally started to write Lord of Change (still going, promise 😛 Tuesdays and fridays) Sihlk was just going to teach Ouran to shapeshift, and that was it. A few parts later and-… well, you’ll see. *smirk*
For my book, there’s a pair of Horos soldiers who were originally only going to show up in one scene that would demonstrate Horos morale at that point in the war. Then I decided to put them at the end, too, to show how it changed, and then… the two of them have five or six scenes planned out now, one of them is a mute, and the other wants to ask the first one out.
Not really reading anything this week. I finished Nemesis by James Swallow but don’t have the next Horus Heresy novel… so… yeah =(
….coulda sworn i had Prospero Burns…

The Coffee Life

a_scene_from_julie__julia__2053353782

You’re the writer but most times it seems, them characters are the ones running the show:

Happy Saturday world! Hope it’s been a good one thus far. I have today off so I am trying to take advantage and get some writing in. Yesterday after work, I went to Starbucks with my friend, sat together for hours on our devices (her laptop, my iPad) and were productive. I’m proud of myself, I finished a chapter and am now writing Chapter 18. Interesting turn of events happened.

I heard in passing how characters will tell YOU who they are during the writing process. I laugh listening to Veronica Roth talk about how Marcus was planned to die in Book 2 but just refused to die, which now she sees how he needed to live to aid plot in Book 3. I kind of got her meaning but still asked myself, “well…

View original post 361 more words

One comment on “Writing: Characters Write Themselves

  1. […] Writing: Characters Write Themselves (halftangible.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a comment! I love comments! =D

