Tales of Mordor #2 – My Apprentice

Tales of Mordor is a series of stories chronicling my experiences with the Nemesis system in Shadow of Mordor.

Again, I wholeheartedly recommend this game to anyone.

Last time I told you the tragedy of Gharm the Vile, and promised to regale you with the story of my vengeance and how it went sour… in all the right ways.

#

Gharm was dead, and it was my fault.

I decided I’d make myself feel better by hunting down the captain in charge here – no doubt the one leading the orcs who’d killed Gharm, though he hadn’t been there personally – and killing him. So I start looking through the stronghold where he’d died, trying to find the captain. I eventually settled on a guy named Shaka Giggles (yes, really) and started to raid the base for intelligence on his weaknesses. As I did so, I noticed a second captain approaching – a guy I’d never heard of called Humgrat the Hunter.

In the game, captains will often seek you out across the map of their own accord, which can be quite the nasty surprise when you’re already in the middle of fighting a different captain. In this case, though, I was on the crumbled roof, just scouting the area out a bit. I was actually rather impressed Humgrat managed to find me. As I moved around, I saw that he moved in that same direction, so I lured him away from the orc stronghold and fought him personally. Eventually I beat him and turned him to my side – someone who had the skill to track the Gravewalker down and the utter drive to do so without encountering me previously couldn’t go to waste.

I ordered him to go become Borgu’s bodyguard in Gharm’s place, and assisted him in a few hunts to that end. Humgrat has since become my little protégé, climbing the ranks with my guidance and assistance, slowing amassing power. He’s strong enough now to kill a monster in a single hit. It’s thanks to him that I managed to finally kill Borgu, and I’m quite grateful.

#

In the next Tale of Mordor, I’ll tell you of Lamug of the Pit, one of the first orc captains I ever took down… and why I’m talking about him almost a month after I killed him.

Leave a comment! I love comments! =D

